Jones-Onslow is proud to announce that Mary Ann LeRay was recently honored as the second place prize winner of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives 2019 #WhoPowersYou Contest.

“We offer our sincere appreciation, gratitude, and congratulations to Mary Ann,” said the co-op’s CEO, Jeff Clark. “We are very proud to serve her and her family as co-op members and grateful for everything she does to serve our local community.”

LeRay, Board Chairman of The Filling Station in Pollocksville, was honored for the non-profit organization’s work seeking to meet the nutritional, educational, and spiritual needs of the residents of Jones County.

The Filling Station opened its food pantry on September 6, 2018, but a week later was forced to temporarily close as Hurricane Florence’s heavy rains flooded the streets of Pollocksville and much of Jones County. On September 14, one week after the hurricane left most of the area underwater, the food pantry reopened its doors and operated as a disaster relief site. For the next 14 weeks, more than 75 volunteers served over 10,000 people.

“We congratulate the commitment and generosity of Ms. LeRay and these inspiring contest winners, along with all the 2019 nominees,” said Jeffrey Connor, Touchstone Energy interim executive director. “They tirelessly demonstrate what it means to have a servant’s heart, and we
are honored to recognize them for their dedication to our core cooperative value of commitment to community.”

LeRay and The Filling Station were awarded the second-place cash prize of $2,000 and honored along with the three other #WhoPowersYou Contest winners from across the United States. Winners were chosen by an independent panel of judges, using criteria based on nominees’
positive impact on their local communities.

To read more about Mary Ann and all the #WhoPowersYou winners click here.